Skip to main content



The European Society for Paediatric Gastroenterology Hepatology and Nutrition (ESPGHAN) is a multi-professional organisation whose aim is to promote the health of children with special attention to the gastrointestinal tract, liver and nutritional status, through knowledge creation, the dissemination of science based information, the promotion of best practice in the delivery of care and the provision of high quality education for paediatric gastroenterology, hepatology and nutrition professionals in Europe and beyond.


ESPGHAN has three standing committees focusing on gastroenterology, hepatology and nutrition. All of these committees aim to promote child health and increase understanding and treatment of disease states. ESPGHAN members are also involved in various working groups that are linked to the appropriate standing committee and concentrate on particular aspects of child care and / or disease states.

Additionally, the Allied Health Professional Committee aims to enhance the multidisciplinary approach in Gastroenterology, Hepatology and Nutrition in Europe, and the Trainee Committee promotes and supports specialist training and guides trainees towards full membership of ESPGHAN.

Other committees within ESPGHAN include the following: Ethics, Finance, International Affairs and Publications.

The ESPGHAN Council:

President Sanja Kolacek, Croatia
General Secretary Jorge Amil Dias, Portugal
Treasurer Annamaria Staiano, Italy
Education Secretary  Andreas Jenke, Germany
International Affairs Representative Patrick Bontems, Belgium
Scientific Secretary Matthias Zilbauer, United Kingdom
Gastroenterology Committee Marc Benninga, Netherlands
Hepatology Committee Giuseppe Indolfi, Italy
Nutrition Committee Magnus Domellöf, Sweden
Allied Health Professionals Jackie Falconer, United Kingdom
Young ESPGHAN Committee Nathalie Rock, Switzerland
Chair of LOC Almuthe Christina Hauer, Austria

Local Organising Committee: Austria

Chair Almuthe Christina Hauer
Further LOC member

Nadja Haiden
Wolf-Dietrich Huber
Jörg Jahnel
Thomas Müller
Anna-Maria Schneider
Daniel Weghuber